take and fade

Wednesday, Mar. 10, 2004 7:12 pm

take this city, and stretch it's sidewalks into a single, continious loop like a race track. Drop the daytime sun from the sky, and illuminate the darkness with the yellow light of street lamps.

Fade in my body walking.

Fade in six million bodies walking.

Along side of the sidewalk, build a wall of houses and sky scrapers. Factories and parking lots.

Fade in your body walking.

Six million people walking a pavement race track.

Inside the race track, put a four lane street. Fade in cars driving.

My pace and your pace intersect our bodies.

Fade your hand into mine.

Take this city, and put us together in it. Take this city, and keep us together in it for five years.

Spring, into our fifth year. Fade your hand out of mine.

Six million people walking pace around a pavement race track. Cars spinning. Buildings looming. Street lights illuminating.

Mismatch our pace, put your body ahead of me, just far enough away, so I don't lose sight of your back.

Of the way your hair drifts.

Of the way your hips sway.

Fade your hand into someone elses.

Take my pace, and slow it down. Hoping I'll lose sight. Fade a bottle into my left hand. Fade pills into my right. Can't lose sight quick enough, catch the corner of your smile, aimed at him. Can't help, but remember how you smiled at me like that for so many years.

Take my pace, and slow it down. Lose sight, only to have you two start lapping me. Catch me, stumbling. I catch you, passing by, trying not to look.

Take my body, and put it on the ground. Take my voice, and have it calling out to you. Take six million people, and have them look away as they pass by. Take six million people, and have them cover their ears as they pass by. Take your body, and have it look away as you lap me. Take your hands, and have them cover your ears as you pass by.

Take my torn vocal cords, and fade it out.

Fade out the cars spinning. The four lane street, fades away.

Take my heart, and put it in panic. Reaching out to six million people, because for a brief moment, they all look like you.

Take one person, have them reach out and take my hand. Picture me on the ground, trying to stand up, waiting for this one hand holding my arm, to help and pull. Fade their hand off of mine. Watch that person walk off. Watch that person fade.

Watch you two lap me again.

Take six million people, and fade them away.

fade out the houses and sky scrapers. Factories and parking lots.

Take my heart, and put it in panic. Take these blue eyes, and fill them with fear.

Yellow street lamps fade out.

Take these sidewalks and fade them away.

take this city,

take you,

take me,

fade it away.

and this is what's left.


.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.