the characteristics of obeisance

Saturday, Jan. 05, 2002 23:04

So I'm looking back at you at last.

After some of these times

and I can't believe you're still there

and I can't beleive you're still around.

I was over there,

hiding from you

I thought you let me go

I figured

you'd given up,

fooled by my disguise.

And there you are, still.

you haven't let me be

and now I'll come face you-

you on your throne,

I waited so long for you to abdicate

but now I'll come subjected.

I know you'll make me forget about my sorrows

I know you'll make me lose my worries

under your shadow

but how could I forget your tyranny?

how could I forget your absolute corruption?

And I'm aware you know me better then I know myself.

I fell back into the mouth of your whale

swallowed and held captive

under your ocean currents

of power

of morose distain

of your cannibalistic tendencies

of your nonsense

and towers and towers and towers of babel and love.

Your words hurt because they make sense.

And that will always snare me

that will always be my bait

that will always be the suffocation of my fire.

I horded my small coins

cupped in my hands

my back turned to you

hiding my face from your truth

but I'll never tell you how much it hurt, fighting against looking back

I'll never tell you how much control you had

I'll never let you know

just how much I needed you

I'll never let on

that you were the best thing

that never happened to me.


.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.