You see me asleep on the sofa, so do I

Saturday, Jan. 31, 2004 12:01 pm

It was the last few minutes waiting at the Rite-Aid for my pills when I noticed the aggro levels rising. Some haggard old lady managed to get in line half a moment before my order was ready, making me wait.

and wait.

I could see them, in their cautionary bag, with it's instructions and ingredients. I wanted to rip it open, get them. take them. want them.

I tapped my finger on a pamphlet, and watched the old lady take her good ol time. My back had been in agony for three days now, the muscles in my lower back fucked to hell from work. The relaxants and painkillers were within my reach. I waited, impatiently.

"Can I write a check?" she asked.

My blood boiled. I looked at the register. 35 bucks it said.

35 fucking bucks?! My head screamed.

"You want to write a check for 35 goddamn dollars?! Sure, why on earth would you want to carry that much money on you!?"

I dropped my head and sighed.

christ...

She finally finished her check, and walked off with her goods. I was up next. Laid out a twenty dollar bill, snatched up my pills, and tore the bag open right there. I had bought a bottle of water while waiting, which was nearly all gone by this point. With the last of the water, I gulped down one pill from each of the two containers as I walked off down the aisle.

Fifteen minutes later, out in the freezing cold, I read the side of the muscle relaxant container.

"May induce drowiness. Consumption of alcohol may intensify effects"

When I got home, I opened the bottle of whiskey and took a deep swig.

Stretched out onto the sofa and melted into it. Surrounded by canyons of blankets and pillows. Flat out. Prone. Falling. Melting.

That was me, asleep on the sofa.

dreamless.

I came to at 6 pm, just in time to get ready for a party.


.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.