jeunesse dor�e

Thursday, Mar. 14, 2002 10:39

Stop.
no, wait, you can go.

Hold on, wait a moment.

Ok, ok, you may go, this time.

Step forward, step back.

forward, back.
forward,
back.

"God damnit!" I exclaim.
Yes, yes, this is typical. Slow down, learn to enjoy it. It's meant to be like this.

Did I get home yet? Where's my front door?
perhaps if it wasn't so dark ... what happened to all the lights around this place?

I hear rain, but ... outside? Am I inside?

Wait a moment. stop. travel slowly, creeping. now. go.

Go. Go. Go!

That's gravel, no, muddy dirt, no ... grass, dew drops on filthy public grass. The clouds hide the buildings. Light gray, so gray. everything gray. monoliths puncture the dropped sky. I think I can almost reach it ...

no, wait ...

I'm in it already.

was that a binary code in the puddle?
trash ... cups, empty potato-chip bags, cigarette cellophane and silver tin wrap wrap, starving homeless pebbles strew around the street curb. Black rain water, or black street, clear water? Rippled reflection, and, yes, yes there it is, dozens of 0's and 1's dipping in and out like dolphins chasing a cruise liner.

drizzle splashes the puddle. no sense in watching anymore,

there's my bus, anyway.

take cover, there it is. Jesus, man, there it is.

Slow down, again. Don't flip over. Don't jack knife. We can't afford a 9 car pile-up. Not here.

not here.

was that? No, no... it only looked like her
from a glance, from a gesture, from the back, maybe from the side too,
definitely, definitely from three miles south, and 9,000 feet high.

Everyone looks like everyone from three miles south, and 9,000 feet high.

I know I'll always find them there.
Slowed down, stopped. crawling, go, moving,
stasis

No, that doesn't matter.

three miles south

9,000 feet high.

.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.