I Once Had a Golden Pavilion, or Reverie to the Anthem of U2's "One"

Monday, Apr. 08, 2002 18:02

we had that song, you know the one.

"One love, one life. When it's one need, in the night..."

I thought things had been straight, you know?
sometimes, I think wrong.

"Did I disappoint you? Leave a bad taste in your mouth?"

yellow-bronzed trees folded on top of each other, one another, of themselves. I recall you telling me certain things. I recall you saying how different the world was.

"Well, it's too late, tonight, to drag the past out into the light."

I don't know how much the world has changed. I know how much you did, if that matters. I'm not sure what you expected from me. never sure, what you wanted ... exactly?

"Have you come here for forgiveness? Have you come to raise the dead? Have you come here to play Jesus, to the lepers in your head?"

I walked home alone, that day of folding tress. I don't know what happened to you. I never knew what happened to you. I thought I knew what happened with us. Sometimes, I think wrong.

"Did I ask too much? More then a lot? You gave me nothin, now it's all I got. We're one, but we're not the same."

Expect to see you a movie star. I thought I may find you playing an arena, with your very own rock band. What ever happened to you? The way you vanished, I thought you'd be planning a grand return. The come-back tour of your green sweaters and nail biting.

"You ask me to enter, well then you make me crawl."

The days after your discovery of a different world, were littered with the perpetual feeling that I forgot something.

"Well I can't be holding on, to what you got. When all you got is hurt."

You went off somewhere. Hopefully to magical places of adventure and excitement.

Hopefully to those dreams and after-parties.


.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.