I can take the road that will see me through

Saturday, Apr. 26, 2003 8:03 am

It was nothing new. In fact, it was the same damn bitter thing. A night out drinking yielded no improvements. A beer thrown across the pool table, like a misguided bomb in Baghdad, exploding across a residential area that had nothing to do with their war. The bouncer appeared out of nowhere, and had him by the arm, taking him outside. So it goes. I was on my 7th beer. Or was it my 10th? The time was midnight, and I had been at that bar since 7pm.
The rains had started when I left an hour later to go to the jazz bar, my personal haunt away from everyone else, but by the time I walked down there, the lights were starting to come up, shunning me away. By now, I was pretty wet and running low on cigarettes. A few stops in a few alley ways to take a piss before hitting the all night store for more smokes.
It was close to 3am by the time I laid my head down, and close to 7:30am when the alarm went off.
It was nothing new, in fact it was all the same. Waking up under heavy blood, swollen hands and stinging feet. Dirty finger nails and red eyes. My mouth was dry, my head was pounding. The rain hadn't stopped. I took a shower then went back into the bedroom.
Opening the closet door to fetch a shirt, I heard a woman singing softly, something like a lullaby, somewhere on the other side of the wall, or perhaps in the apartment below.
There I stood, listening to this soothing sound peaking out from what must be a most magical hiding place. I closed my eyes briefly and found myself curled up that rabbit's hole, safe from the cold city streets and mad nights that slowly destroy me.

.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.