"So we want you to leave your wordly troubles outside..."

Thursday, Oct. 02, 2003 7:18 pm

She turned over, laying part of her chest on my shoulder and running her finger around the broken heart tattoo on my chest.

"So tell me your story,"
"Don't worry about my stories,"

there was a tense pause, a moment of emotional recoil, then she smiled.

"You've had your heart broken then?" she asked, putting her warm palm over the tattoo.
"Hasn't everyone?"

She smiled again and nodded.

The curtains lifted and fell. The room shivered and goosebumps ran over her arms. She pulled the blanket higher, over her shoulders, and snuggled her head between my neck and shoulder.

"I always thought Jazz bars were, like, filled with business men and their ugly wives watching old men play and drink gin." her breath warmed my neck.
"Sometimes that's exactly what it's like. I like it that way. It's the music that matters." I told her, turning my head and smelling her hair as I talked. She smiled.
"What did you think when you saw me smiling at you?" she questioned. I thought for a moment, through the fragmented pieces of memory misplaced by alcohol.
"I thought about this."

There was a silence between us as an ambulance siren passed in the distance. The curtains lifted and fell. The room shivered.

She kissed my neck, and wrapped her arm over my chest.

"What about tomorrow?" She asked.

"It's not here yet."

The city light painted a glare on the framed pictures. An Edward Hopper painting. A black and white photograph of a rain-slicked nightime new york street.

Her legs curled up under the sheets.
My hand lightly stroking her arm that was across my chest as she slowly sunk into sleep.

The curtains lifted and fell.

The room shivered.

Tomorrow could wait.


.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.