I caught my love in North Carolina

Monday, Nov. 29, 2004 7:24 pm

Hopped on a greyhound bus and headed to South Carolina to catch up with a girl who's in love with me. Took three packs of cigarettes, Henry Miller trying to claw his way out of my bag.

11 hours on a greyhound bus into the south land. 11 hours of her whisper echoing through my head,

I'll see you there. I'll see you soon.

11 hours and 5 states to catch up with love.

I caught her.

I caught her.

I caught her 11 hours and 5 states later in North Carolina.

We caught our love in a greyhound station in North Carolina.

We caught each other in North Carolina.

I caught my love in North Carolina.

We drove to South Carolina between moonlit trees, on empty roads. Train tracks and high beams.

sunday afternoon at a Huddle House, I burned my tongue on hashbrowns with cheese and onions [she ordered the same].

On a sunday afternoon, we left South Carolina with the sun setting at our backs.

On a sunday dusk, we left South Carolina with a German typewriter and a blue pig lamp in the trunk. An old white American bulldog asleep in the back seat. Our fingers gently braided together next to the shift.

11 hours and 5 states to catch up with a girl I'm in love with.

A promise to never leave each other behind again.


.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.