Footlocker, SWAT, UNO Attack.

Sunday, Feb. 10, 2002 02:39

Start with SWAT outside the apartment.

Think about 9:30pm, saturday night. Five friends drinking and playing UNO attack.

Located on the main shopping drag of philly, south street.

Some background, if you will;

NBA all star games taking place in philadelphia. The weekend is blown up with people from all over the country, hoping to see star basketball players, and whomever else. Like OJ Simpson, who's fancy car I saw drive down the street earlier.

The people who have come into the town, are composed mostly, 99% of rockafella-wearing, mercedes benz-weekend rent cars and jeeps, and such.

fast forward to 9:30pm, 6th and south street, third floor apartment, looking down at a footlocker.

"What's going on?" she calls down. The police had moved the crowds back half a block from the footlocker and weren't letting anyone pass.

"Someone robbed --o--r"

"Tower?"

"No, ph--i-i"

"Philadeli?"

"No, footlocker."

"Oh. hey- someone robbed footlocker" she turns to us and says.

It took a few minutes, but we soon realized that nobody was going near the footlocker, and more SWAT members were appearing.

"Oh, shit. They're still in there." I say, smiling.

I smile, because I get to see some action.

"get the camera!" my friend says. She runs down stairs to get the camera.

meanwhile, SWAT team members line up against the shop next to the footlocker, and raise their carbines and shotguns. The crowd is going wild with excitement.

A SWAT team member with a shield approaches the door, and places it against it. Another comes up and then another and they begin to pry the locked door open.

The door pops open, and they stand there. She comes back up with the camera and hands it to me. I watch through the lens as a footlocker employee walks backwards towards the door with his hands in the air. He stops at the door, is searched, then pulled to the side and put in handcuffs.

This repeats with two more employees.

I'm taking pictures of this happening.

"Yo, save those pictures!!" someone in the crowd calls up to me.

"OJ did it! OJ robbed footlocker!" someone else yells. We all start cracking up.

Then the SWAT team members storm the footlocker. Single file, left hand on each others shoulders, weapons raised. I'm snapping pictures like crazy now.

The crowd of around 75-100 people are cheering.

"This is so fuckin cool." I comment. my friend in the other window smiles and nods. "I know." he says, just as excited as I am.

About 5 minutes later, the SWAT team members exit, empty handed. the current theory being that they found no one, or found someone and took him out the back way.

We decide to contact the local paper/news agency and make a deal. money for the undeveloped roll of film with some pictures of SWAT storming footlocker. Shortly thereafter, I decide not to contact anyone, as I want to keep these pictures.

I will get them developed next week. I will post them here. I just hope they came out.

.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.