Emmett's Mark

Monday, Apr. 15, 2002 07:50

So I went to see Emmett's Mark last night, and my, oh my, what a truely great movie.

It was it's second showing [the world premiere was saturday night], and the Director was there to thank us all for coming. A friend of mine introduced the movie and the director [and also had a small walk-on performance in the movie].

The people sitting behind us were annoying and talked through the whole thing, and I'm fairly sure they were from Jersey.

So yeah, the movie was filmed in philly [with all these small philly haunts that only philly people would get, so the audience was loving it, especially me]. The plot is amazing, which, in a nut shell, is;

Emmett Young is a Philadelphia Homicide Detective who discovers he has a terminal illness just as he take a high profile murder case. He becomes obssessed with solving it, to do some good in his life, before he dies. In comes Gabriel Byrne who plays a shady/mysterious character who befriends Emmett, and Tim Roth, a down-and-out Secuirty Guard hired by Byrne's character to help Emmett, and who becomes more and more interested in Emmett's situation.

It kind drags just once or twice, nothing serious, but enough to notice, but the acting, cinematography, and incredable ending turn it into one of the best movies of 2002 thus far.

I don't know what it's theater schedule is like, but if you see it on tape, rent it. If you see it playing near you, even better, go see it.


.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.