Zero7 live

Tuesday, Apr. 16, 2002 00:35

words do no justice to the experience of seeing Zero7 live. Truely, they don't.

The show tonight was one of the most mind blowing musical experiences, ever. Everything was on point, sharp, immediate, together, important, loving, authentic and beautiful.

The vocals Mozez laid down, especially over Truth & Rights [which faded into the opening tune to polaris], were astounding. I believe he is the love child of Al Green and James Brown, however strange that may be.

And then Sia came out like a bashfull goddess, and began singing Distractions. It was then that we all knew she held total power over everyone, nobody could pull themselves away from that song. We were hers. Goddess, indeed.

Red Dust, one of my favorites on the Simple Things album, cranked it up to a full scale hip-hop beat that was on par with the greats of live band hip-hop, such as the Roots, making everyone's head bounce while injecting us with soulful jazz cords.

It's late, I need to sleep some. This is life-altering music. The kind that makes you feel and think of emotion, memory and experience. I'll go to bed with that on my mind.

.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.