musika

Thursday, Apr. 25, 2002 19:15

new music today;

Lamb [their first album. My roomate had their other one, fear of fours, and I remember not liking it all too much. So I bought their first one to see what it's all about. oddly, they played at the night club I worked at years back, and even though I was there that night just hanging out, I have no recollection of what they sounded like. I'ma give 'em a shot again]

Kruder & Dorfmeister; The K&D Sessions [my ears had been perked by them when I heard the "Rockers HiFi, Going under [love and insanity remix]" on the Traffic soundtrack. I was browsing cdnow.com and saw the album where it came from, the K&D sessions, so I picked it up today. I'm listening to it now and it's really fucking good. If you like trip-hop, dub, zero 7-esque mellow-jazzyness, mixed with some drum & bass stuff, you'll dig these two]

Pretty Girls Make Graves

[I picked this one up because

a) it's one of the former Murder City Devils

b) they're playing may 17th here in philly, and I wanted to hear their sound before I went to their show.

the bonus, it turns out, is that despite my disappointment that Spencer wasn't the singer, it's instead a kick-ass chick who's good lookin' and rips on vocals. Of course, the band tight as fuck, just as murder city was. But this isn't murder city, it's pretty girls make graves, their own sound, and it's damn good.]

.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.