sadness

2001-10-06 9:04 p.m.

I went out to the convenience store for some milk and bread and cigarettes. It's very cool out now, and I love it.

On the way back home, I passed by a hospital and there was a father carrying his young son against his chest. The child was crying. The father said, and looking back I see now that he was crying too, "Don't worry, you still have daddy."

the child continued to cry.

A few yards behind them, were three more people, two women and a young teenage boy, I believe. There weren't saying anything, but the boy was crying too. The two women were standing around him. they were all watching the father with his child. Two women, a few feet to the left of the group of three were buried into each others shoulders, sobbing. I think I heard one of them say "I love you."

I'm not sure exactly what might of happened, but I think I can safely assume that they lost someone... quite likely the young child's mother.

whatever it was, there was some profound sadness I walked through. Thick in the air, stabbing at my heart and choking the air from my throat. I felt my stomach drop.

I felt thankful that those who I love are still with me. Then I felt trivial and nonexistant.

so many people and their stories in the middle of this sprawling city.

So many of us. We come, we go.

"that there... that's not me.

I go... where I please.

I walk through walls...

I float down a liffy.

I'm not here, this isn't happenin'

I'm not here...

I'm not here.

In a little while... I'll be gone.

The moment's already passed.

yeah, it's gone.

and I'm not here... this isn't happenin'

I'm not here...

I'm not here.

Strobe lights, and blown speakers.

Fireworks, and hurricanes...

I'm not here... this isn't happening.

I'm not here...

I'm not here."

.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.