gotta get to 5th and spruce.

11.11.2001 6:29

hahaha, I was just thinkin about this time...

when I came to, I was walking down broad st, between pine and spruce. I don't know how I got there. Or where I was going, or why I was going anywhere to begin with. I didn't even remember leaving the party.

but there I was. 3am, at least. It was cold outside, and I didn't have a jacket. But I couldn't feel the cold. Whatever was running through my blood numbed me so nicely from all that.

Whiskey, for sure. Lots of it. Maybe some codine, which probably explained the imperviousness to the cold. No pot, no coke. Nothing else, except more beer and liquor. PBR. Shots of various stuff. Jagermeister? oh, no that was a different party. A few different parties actually. I haven't drank that motor oil in years.

where was I? Wondering where I was, I think. I was at broad and spruce. around 3am. early winter. University of the Arts is right there. It was all a blur anyway.

I stopped walking and looked around. There was the U of arts building across the street. Scaffolding next to it. There were lights, I think. Yellow, purple, red too...maybe? I honestly couldn't tell if they were lights from the building, or car lights trailing by, or changing traffic lights. I stopped walking to figure out where I was and how I got there.

Question one, solved- I'm at University of the Arts. I'm not a student here, am I? No, I've never been to college. Wait, I took one sociology course during high school at university of the arts... that explains why I feel like I went there.

Question two, about to be solved- how did I get there? I looked around, and then breathed deeply to prevent motion sickness. Too late. I spit something up. My eyes feel blood-shot. Ok. I know where I am. I must of gotten here by walking. I checked my money and didn't spend any on a cab. Why would I get out here if I did?

Why am I not at the party, anyway? So I walked here. I was heading north on broad. Perhaps I should get off broad. I walked to spruce and turned right. Wait... perhaps I shouldn't be anywhere near 13th and spruce either. I shouldn't be near 13th st regardless of the street. There's nothing good happening on 13th.

I picked up my pace and crossed 13th with nobody around. Ok. that's better. 12th street is ok. I'll feel better when I get to 5th. just keep walking.

maybe I should go back to the party? where was the party? damnit. Maybe I should just go home... where was home? damnit. C'mon, you can remember that. ...fuck, I can't remember. What's in me??...

I covered my face with my hands and stumbled down spruce street. I was at 10th, by this point, I think. For some reason or another, I needed to get to 5th st. Everything would be better on 5th st.

A car raced by and honked. I was too slow to react properly, but kinda lethargically turned around as it whizzed down spruce. I guess it was past 11th st by the time I really put two and two together.

'What the fuck do you want?' did I know them? who was that?

I hit 8th street with little hassle. I was still totally numb and didn't feel the cold at all. I started to wonder where my jacket was. I knew I took one with me when I left.... where did I leave from? Damnit.

Why the fuck am I going to 5th and spruce? Something good's there. Isn't there? Who told me that? Why did I leave the party to go to 5th and spruce?

hello woman also missing a jacket. No, I don't need a date, thank you. I'm just going to 5th and spruce.

I lit up a cigarette, menthol. Was I smoking menthol again? Eh, I don't mind either way. I smoked as I walked. I watched my feet for half a block, then the sky for the other half.

this is...6th and spruce. That's 5th up there. I don't see anything, or anyone. I walked up to the corner of 5th st, and stopped. I threw down my finished smoke and lit up another one. Nobody around. A car drove by. Then a few more. I walked out into the middle of the street and looked south down 5th st. not a single car in sight the whole way down, that I could see. I turned around and looked north up 5th. Three cars sat at a red light.

fuck, what am I doing here? I smoked more. I had to piss. The corner of 5th and spruce would do. Piss sprinkled over my docs. Damnit, I forgot that's what happens.

There still was nobody around. Why did I need to come to 5th and spruce? I finished my smoke and flicked it somewhere. Ok. There's nothing here for me. I looked around, and realized I had downgraded from 100% wasted from when I appeared at broad and pine, to being 90% wasted, by the time I got to 5th and spruce. 10% sobriety wasn't so bad. Maybe I'll remember where I live now.

Someone called out to me. Who? I looked around, but was still too drunk to follow the voice exactly. They called out to me again. I found it this time.

Oh, hey. What are you doing here? the party is still on? where? oh, that's right. Is my jacket there? Cool. You gotta a smoke? Thanks. Yeah, let's go. what time is it? Ok.

The party wasn't far. Why the fuck was I at university of the arts?

Do I live around there? No? are you sure? Ok. Where do I live? Yeah I'm serious. No, dude, I'm not fuckin around, where do I live? C'mon, tell me. Fuck it then, I'll remember at some point. Well, no, I have a clue. I've narrowed it down to three spots. But I don't wanna just roll up to some crib I used to live in and try to get in. Start bangin on the door n' shit. Why'd you change the locks, assholes!? I'd yell. And then I'd get my ass kicked 'cause I'm too fucked up to fight back.

yeah, that's my jacket. cool, glad it's still there. Whatsup all. I dunno. I went for a walk I guess. Nah, it's not that cold out there. Pass me that crooked I. move over.

smoke. malt. beat up couch. Some girl smiling at me to my right. damn, I need to remember where I live and fast...


.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.