space stuff falling on philly

18.11.2001 3:37

I opened my curtain just now and looked up into the sky. A second later, two yellow streaks burned by and vanished behind a roof. it's almost 3:40 am. I've been seeing "shooting stars" all night.

went to a party earlier. the people there have a deck with a skyline view of center city. I loved it. I sat out there for half that party, drinking pabst and looking at the city. Since the house was still in center city technically, it wasn't a far-away view. I could see the tiny details of the buildings. The steam, the lights. Just far enough away to be able to take it all in, but immerse myself in specifics at the same time. There were two falling metorites while I was up there. I had a similar view from my apartment in queen village, back in 1992-94. I would climb out into the roof constantly and just sit up there at night, watching. The Smiths & The The's "Dusk" album was the soundtrack to those two years.

I think I'm going to go back to the window and look for more falling space rocks. the shower should start soon.


.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.