cristo redentor

Monday, Nov. 17, 2003 9:35 pm

The lights of a coffee shop,
an oasis along this shut down and deserted street.
the false hopes of staying under it's illumination
the growing weariness of the waitress' eyes on me,
saying she's tired,
and wants to go home.
waiting for me to leave on my own,
so she doesn't have to kick me out.

Her arms held close to her sides,
sitting far away from me, smoking a cigarette
the language of her body,
different from the smiles and warm greetings
given when I first walked in.

wanting this first respite,
half a year in the waiting,
to never end,
it keeps me seated
struggling to hold onto the fantasy in my head,
where she walks up
pours another cup of coffee
and says;

"Please stay, I'm happy you're here."

����I look over
����and her back is facing me,
����cigarette smoke drifting into the air
����with indifference
����to my hopeful glances.


.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.