I'm in.

26.11.2001 5:09

It's official. I am an E1, Private in the United States Army National Guard.

My MOS is 19k, tanker crewman. I'm still with the same unit that I would of been in with a 19d, cavalry scout, troop A of the 1/104th Cav.

The whole process was stressful and wrecked me emotionally. There were a lot of ups and downs through the MEPs. I almost didn't get to be with this unit. it was very, very close. We found the 19k at the last moment, and got me in [barely too, I'm just at the max height requirements].

So I'll be driving one of the biggest, baddest pieces of equipment on the ground. And I'll be with the unit I wanted to join, and I'll have the opportunity to cross-train as a 19d, scout.

wow. this day has been too long. I was up at 3am, and we drove to ft. dix from philly. We got there close to 5:30. 6am, processing began. I just got home at 5pm, and I'm bleepin tired.

I'm shipping out april 15th to Ft. Knox, kentucky. My total time away will be around 26 weeks.

Until I leave though, I still be doing drills with my unit one weekend a month. I should have my BDU's by january.

So I'm nervous now that something will come up that will disqualify me, or something will happen to me at boot, like a serious injury, or something of that matter, that will send me home.

It's just that I really want to do this now, and with all the bumps I hit just at MEPs, I'm worried that there will be more, bigger bumps ahead.

ok. time to go.


.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.