devil got my woman

16.12.2001 4:33

you know I'd rather be the devil,
I'd rather be the devil,
then to be that woman man.

you know, I rather be the devil
then be that woman man.

you not so sorry
your not so sorry
that I ever fell in love with you.

because you know you don't treat me
baby, like you used to do.

you never lay down last night
you never lay down last night.
and I tried to take me some rest,

but my mind got to ramblin'
like a wild geese from the west.

you know the woman that I love
you woman that I love
I stoled her from my best friend.

but you know,
he done got lucky
and he done got her back again.

you know you used to cut your kindlin
you know you, to cut your kindlin
then baby I made you some fire.

then I would turn on your water
way way away from these boggy [?]

you know my baby, she don't drink whiskey
my baby, she don't drink no whiskey
and I know she ain't crazy about wine.

no it wasn't nothin but the devil-
he done change my baby's mind.

you know I could be right.
you know, I could be right
then again, I could be wrong.

but it wasn't nothin but the devil-
he done got my baby and he done gone.

-skip james, "devil got my woman"

.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.