Excerpt from a letter home

July 30, 2002 11:37 a.m.

[Editor's note: edited for length and some personal content. Posted by defect's instruction. He wrote two days later to say he is fine and back in training.]

July 23, 2002

Well, I've found myself in one hell of a situation. I've developed this condition called Rhabo-something-itis. (Rhabdomyolysis) Basically, I shredded my muscles so badly that my body released huge amounts of ezymes (protein) into my blood. This could cause liver & kidney damage, either permanent or temporary. The doctor said my liver and kidneys look fine, but they want to run more tests. I'm on orders to drink 1 canteen of water every two hours, plus I've got two types of pain killers to help with the inflammation of my arms. I can barely use them, no exaggeration.

In a nut shell, I overdid it to the point that my muscles are dissolving...


.new .older .profile .email .guestbook .soundtrack :: defect

dland exuant omnes your voice drifts away into lost binary alleyways it echoes photography

last five:
A Winter Letter - Wednesday, Nov. 28, 2007
almost but not quite - Wednesday, Mar. 22, 2006
rural times, blue skies. it feels so warm over my hair - Wednesday, Jun. 01, 2005
smiles and gone - Monday, Feb. 07, 2005
I caught my love in North Carolina - Monday, Nov. 29, 2004

disclaimer: my shit is copyrighted.